hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

Paddington Boots

Strictly speaking these are Wellington boots, but actually they are the wellies that Paddington Bear wears.

My mum almost never bought me 'branded' toys, but being a thrifty woman she spotted a money-saving opportunity, as Paddington's footwear is a pair of genuine size 5 baby wellies. So they came with Paddington, then I wore them, then my sister wore them, and now Alexander is wearing them. They are 35 years old but not leaky at all. I know we're not the only ones, as my friend Claire told me her mum, also a creative thrifty type, did exactly the same thing.

Paddington himself (the soft toy) was created by Jeremy Clarkson's mum, clearly also a creative woman, and Paddington paid for the education of the national treasure Jeremy is today. Ahem. All I can say is I'm glad we got our money's worth from the wellies.

Contrary to my previous assertion, we went into the back garden and did a spot of tidying up today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.