Scuppered

A grey, dull, humid, damp kind of day. Morning at work then I've been very kind to animals! There's a poor forlorn little pony that every year gets put in a grim thistly field by the road and it stands there looking miserable. Yesterday I took him two apples and a carrot and today (veg handily in my car) I stopped to do the same. He whinnied and looked excited - really! Two more apples and three carrots were munched enthusiastically. I was then on dog walking duty with Molly the Mad Collie. She had been in all morning and was rampant! We sped around the block at about 100 mph and I felt well and truly exercised.

I then went down to the sea to investigate the remains of this. I don't know why I haven't been before. This old boat was a landmark as you came into Ahakista, always leaning on one side, stranded but very attractive. About two years ago it went up in flames on night and burnt for about two weeks. Arson was suspected but in the end rumour has it that the owner did it himself to avoid having to pay insurance on it. I took loads of images as the skeleton is intriguing - it reminded me of a watery Sutton Hoo. In the end the old paintwork and rust won - as usual! I'll be back though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.