The Last Rose of Summer

Maybe it is, maybe it isn't. But it's certainly going to be amongst the last few. I thought that I needed to take this photograph because of the delicacy of the colours and the structure, and the tear-like raindrops.

So, if it is the last rose, then this is the next to last bloom (with attendant bug), already fading.

Mendelssohn wrote a Fantasia, Op 15, on the Irish folk tune to which Thomas Moore's famous 1805 poem is usually set.

I'm not going along with the idea in the poem "Thus kindly I scatter/
Thy leaves o'er the bed." My rose is newly opened, and does not yet need to sleep with the scentless and dead ones! In case you wonder what on earth I am talking about, here is the complete poem:


'Tis the last rose of summer

Left blooming alone;
All her lovely companions
Are faded and gone;
No flower of her kindred,
No rosebud is nigh,
To reflect back her blushes,
To give sigh for sigh.

I'll not leave thee, thou lone one!
To pine on the stem;
Since the lovely are sleeping,
Go, sleep thou with them.
Thus kindly I scatter,
Thy leaves o'er the bed,
Where thy mates of the garden
Lie scentless and dead.

So soon may I follow,
When friendships decay,
From Love's shining circle
The gems drop away.
When true hearts lie withered
And fond ones are flown,
Oh! who would inhabit,
This bleak world alone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.