Don't Worry, Be App-y

By Debs

iPhone Me!

I rarely take self portraits but in the interests of thoroughness in my 'learn to use my iPhone camera' quest, I felt I had to get one out of the way.

The reverse camera bit of the iPhone is easy to use but rubbish quality so I attempted to use the real camera. It's quite a useful feature that the iPhone doesn't actually take the image until you remove your finger from the camera icon. It means that by leaning against a wall I could hold the camera quite stable, with my finger on the icon then gently remove my finger for a portrait with minimal camera shake.

I used cameraforge 2 to convert to b & w and adjusted levels slightly. Then I used the Lo-Mob camera filters (ho-mob reloaded) which gives a high key look and usefully makes the wall I'm leaning against part of the image.

The eyes are not as sharp as I'd like but hey-ho, it's my first hand-held iPhone SP and hardly anyone will see it as I haven't told anyone except a few iPhone snappers that this journal even exists ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.