Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Rebirth

Just a short while after learning the wonderful news the two remaining American hikers had been freed after two years in an Iranian prison, I met this little cat in the hands of a young fellow outside the cafe.

I have been following the hiker story more carefully than I normally would for its importance because I know the "Fourth Hiker," who took sick on the day of the arrest. He got a cell phone call from his friends, informing of their arrest, and if it were not for Shon, and Shon being sick that day, all four may well have gone "missing & presumed dead." I think of it as another episode in historical microbiology: bacteria changing human history as always. But just a little while before I began posting this blip I watched the footage of the two hikers arriving in Oman. Yesterday they were psychologically mummified after 2 years in solitary confinement. Today they're under the spotlight of the world. I've heard testimony of it before, and it's a weird thing to experience.

Meeting this kitten, who had just been found on a porch (listless; without appetite) and who was due for a visit to the vet tomorrow, I suggested warm milk be injected into the cat's mouth with a dropper, or the liquid part of white clam spaghetti sauce. Ceridwen said that just water was most important and that anything salty should be avoided. The old memory this all brought to my mind was of my cat Kittini, who was a feral baby at first and who lost hope just like this. One good squirt of that clam sauce made his eyes open wide and his toungue start to lash about for more. Kittini lived a long and lazy life after his rough start.

I hope that this little bundle of tabby fur has the same rebirth tomorrow as Shane Bauer and Josh Fattal experienced today.

We were both delighted by the many comments drawn to our mirrored blips of yesterday. Thanks to all of you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.