Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Marquisa telur kodok

Well, as predicted, no insects to play with today, so my house bug series grinds to a halt. However, a few days ago, while in the eatery just down the road, I eyeballed a bowl of fruit on the table. I had seen these fruits before, but had not tried them, so I added three to my purchases and popped them in the fridge for a future blip. My host obliged me by writing down the name of the fruit for me. I had never heard of a konyat before, but it looked harmless enough. So, my sporadic series on Indonesian fruits continues.

The konyat is about the size of a lemon. Coloring is yellow at the stalk end, fading to orange and mottled with yellow specs. It looks like a bad juggler had been playing with them, as all three carry bruises and cracks. This fruit feels like a very thin, brittle plastic shell with nothing or very little underneath, which would reflect the low cost of the fruit at Rp1500 (US$0.15 or UK10p) per piece. The skin was easily depressed, a bit like an empty plastic bottle. Incidentally, if I bought these fruits at a proper street fruit and vegetable market, the quoted prices would be halved. There is no aroma, so I am not expecting to get my taste buds ripped out.

I picked the most damaged sample to open, leaving the other two for the photograph. With no visible seams or break lines, I chose a plane and attempted to cut with a sharp knife. This obviously was not the correct way in, as the blade just slipped on the hard surface. I really wanted a clean entry, so that I could make a tidy blip of the inside, but the cracks and surface damage on the fruit were begging to be torn apart, so that is what I did. Clearly it was the correct method, it tore apart very easily.

Underneath the thin plastic skin was a layer of white, fluffy pith, attached to the skin, not edible. The skin peeled easily away from a soft, thin membrane which contained the seeds, held in a jelly, looking a lot like something you would find in a pond, left by amorous frogs. I cut through the membrane to reveal the inside and presented for the blip. The bed of chilies were there just for aesthetics, to pretty up the blip.

I sucked some of the jellied seeds into my mouth. The seeds were brittle, crunchy and tasteless, proving to be not a problem. I am assuming that the seeds are edible, as separating them out would be a nightmare. The jelly was very thin, slightly sweet and presumably the point of this fruit. The flavor was very light and the best that I can compare it to is a light grape flavor, but not.

Not an exciting fruit, but certainly not objectionable, mundanely pleasant I would say. Better than an apple, but I would prefer an orange. Given the choice of twenty konyat or a cempedak, I would take the cempedak every time. This concludes No2 in the fruit experience series.

I am now at the internet cafe, so decided to Google the fruit. I could not find anything with the given name, so I searched pictures. The fruit is called marquisa telur kodok, which is very appropriate as telur kodok translates to eggs frog, so my description was graphically correct, LOL.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.