No Static

By nostatic

Emoticon

I think this one means non-plussed (or maybe it's hmm).

Up until a few years ago I was firmly against emoticons and their pal txt spk, but since starting in my current role I've found myself using an instant messaging client a lot more and for some reason it naturally lends itself to those abbreviations. I can lol, ;-), afaik, np, brb, :-( like a teenager these days (that's if teenagers haven't invented some other language by now). The march to newspeak continues - not good.

Whilst I wandered to work thinking about emoticons I remembered the band colon open bracket an 8-bit emo band from Aberdeen who were a guilty pleasure of mine a few years back. Still can't argue with calling a song Twin Chevron Action Flash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.