Nat's Travels

By natstravels

Tommy Down's Tower

I grew up in Somerset and the view from my bedroom window was of fields and trees and in the distance Tommy Down's Tower.

Well thats what my Dad always called it as the farmer just down the hill from the Tower was called Tommy Down.

It's proper name is King Alfred's Tower and its part of the Stourhead estate, it was build in 1762 and is 50meters high. From memory I think at least one if not two light air craft have crashed into the top of it, how careless!

From the top not only can you see the house I grew up in in Somerset, but you can also see Dorset and Wiltshire as well.

Typically I went today, Thursday, one of the two days per week the tower is closed! I will go again and Blip from the top and the lovely views.

Other than a wander through the woods, I also rode through the woods, Scooby was very well behaved.

This evening I went for a run along the canal, dont worry I was supervised, A came with me and kept between me and the water.

And now to relax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.