H2 is playing at blipping

By H2

Identity #5: Potential

I found this in my pocket today. I'd slipped it in there yesterday when Tom Kitten gave it to me. He'd picked up two in the school playground "underneath the special big acorn tree", one for him and one for me.

I love acorns, as I told him at the time. I love them because they are so small, and yet they contain all the bits and pieces necessary to become something great.

Of course, acorns need the right conditions in order to realise their potential. They need to be planted, fed with the right balance of nutrients, watered and protected as they grow.

Surely part of our identity is what we are able to become? If that is true, how much responsibility do we take for ensuring we are in the best conditions to grow? How much responsibility do we have for the nurturing of others and helping them realise their potential?

Tom Kitten, as I have mentioned before, is my godson. I pray that I will always do and say the right balance of things to help him on the way to become the wonderful man I know he can be.

I guess at some point before then I'll have to stop calling him 'Kitten'...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.