Colour Coordination

Unlike most people, I have nothing against wasps other than nuisance value. I may possibly not have been stung enough, and so I'm not frightened of them in the way that some people are, who panic and flap their arms about inviting an attack.

All summer I have watched a small colony of wasps working hard flying back and forth to their nest under the wooden ceiling of our balcony to feed their queen.

They have been diligent in their duties and not once has one of them bothered any human sitting on the patio. But the complaint to the powers that be by a wuss of a window cleaner who refused to clean the window directly underneath the entrance to the nest, has resulted in the pest man with his deadly poison appearing yesterday afternoon and destroying them, leaving them to die in seeming agony on our patio. I'm not a Buddhist, but I hate to see living creatures suffer like that over an extended period, and if their bodily contortions are anything to go by, suffer they did.
But the hundreds of dead wasps have been swept up and there are only those still dying who are left. A sad sight.

Had they been left in peace, nature would have taken its course and the whole colony would have died off once the cold weather arrived, and apparently next year's wasps would not have returned to the same nest.

His Lordship has reminded me of Robert Burn's words-'I'm truly sorry Man's dominion Has broken nature's social union'

By some miracle, his Lordship has decided against walking the hills tomorrow and is suggesting an outing with me.
I fear an ulterior motive on his behalf; I am worried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.