Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Whirl 'pool (Take 2)

I took my visitors to the Museum of Liverpool this morning. It's only been open a couple of months and although I've walked past it many times this was the first time I'd been inside. I'll certainly be back! It's a great building and has some fascinating exhibits relating to the city and its people. I was particularly taken with the two enormous picture windows (overlooking the Pier Head and the Albert Dock respectively) and with the fantastic central spiral staircase. Here's a rather heavily messed-about view of the stairs and skylight.

In the afternoon we saw the René Magritte exhibition, 'The Pleasure Principle' at Tate Liverpool. It was a very thorough overview of Magritte's career and I had mixed views about the works on show but the things that I enjoyed most were the examples of his 'day job' as a commercial artist - advertisements, film posters and the like - about which I had never previously been aware.

Everywhere we went we found ourselves mingling with delegates from the Labour Party conference who seem to have judged that a spot of tourism was preferable to listening to Ed Miliband's Leader's speech. I couldn't possibly comment!

Apologies to all who experienced the temporary technical fault which meant that my picture from yesterday's journal entry showed up again today for some reason... Am still not sure how that happened but special thanks to Hoodedpigwoman for helping me out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.