Just one

"What if you could choose just one song?" That's a good question and it would be very difficult - but I would still choose this one.

Do I still play the banjo?

Forest is burning behind the border
I just keep sleeping
In the dawn there's smoke on the streets
and the sun is shrinking

You left for Paris
said you were happy
The girl is beautiful and friendly
I hate her

Nobody's waiting for me
so why should I get up
Before the new moon
you call after all

I lost you a long time ago
You pulled your shoulders up to your ears and walked away
This morning I want to forget it all
perhaps be like back then
You ask whether I have cut my hair
if I have changed
Do I still play the banjo
at night after dark?
Do I still play the banjo
at night after dark?

I sold my banjo
already last winter
but I still sing
Listen carefully

This is the last song
I'll sing for you
It's called "Too much
and too late"

This is the last song
I'll sing for you
It's almost over
Listen carefully

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.