People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Sick

What do you do with a sick kid that must stay home for two school days, and isn't sick enough to stay in bed? Why you make Christmas ornaments out of old Christmas cards, of course.

I have a serious thing for Christmas cards. I love them! Sure, some are kitschy and tacky, but so many of them are just beautiful! Few years ago, I started saving the ones we receive with the idea of turning them into Something Cool. I wasn't sure what; I just wanted to do something with them that didn't involve the recycling bin. So I made some ornaments and paper chains, and before I knew it, other people were giving me their cards after the Holidays as well. This year, I will use or toss all the cards I have, as their sheer number is getting out of hand.

Another problem: Little Man is the first (and so far only) grandchild in the family. That means his doting grandparents are spoiling him silly. While it will make for happy childhood memories, it makes it very difficult to teach him that Christmas is about extending love and friendship towards others, and not about getting truckloads of gifts.

To his credit, it was Little Man who decided we should make the ornaments as gifts for his teacher and classmates. I like that. So, I cut the cards and put the ornaments together, while Little Man decorated them with the glitter glue :-) When they are all made and decorated, Husband Dear and I will attached the strings to them, while Little Man will pick the beads that will hold the string in place on top and bottom.

I would say "Happy Holidays", but it seems waaaay to early to do so just yet :-)

PS. Huge "thank you" to all who visited my journal yesterday on my 100 blips day. Such a nice crowd, you are :-)

I'll be back to commenting after Little Man feels better, as at the moment he requires tons of entertaining to stop him from tearing the house up. I am grateful he has tons of energy despite his fever; it makes me less worried than if he were listless...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.