Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

A Long & Interesting Day

I really had to agonize over what to blip this time. Ceridwen & I spent the day in Reading, Pennsylvania where I spoke to a journalism class that a friend teaches, and then we explored the town a bit. The general vedict is that Reading is a sad place because it once was a large & prosperous town, but walking around in the heart of it on a Friday afternoon was like visiting a morgue. But West Reading, just across the river, is alive and well, and the Reading Public Museum (which has a planetarium and an arboretum with ducks & geese) turns out to be a VERY fine museum --but who knew? I've never heard of the place, but it has loads of treasures by the likes of Degas, Courbet, Picasso & Matisse, plus Ancient Greek vases, tons of great Native American stuff, local Colonial period treasures, and not just a mummy but a really good mummy. We were floored. Also they have a Natural History section that puts Philly's Academy of Natural Sciences to shame.

I decided to go with this shot I took when we stopped for gas on the way home. It reminds me of my first journey through the great Plaines at age seventeen, when I couldn't believe my eyes when looking at the sky. This is very modest in comparison, of course. I just like the shot. I'll try to get a blipfolio together from the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.