Bright Light, Dark Room

By ellies

Spanning the Valley

I was having a conversation recently with a friend of mine who hates living in Newcastle. He thinks it is a dump and that it has no picturesque "ye olde" bits etc. He grew up in rural coastal N. Ireland, then went to uni in Cambridge and St Andrews, so maybe it's not surprising he finds Newcastle a little, well, urban.

I may have grown up in Glasgow, but I then went to uni in St Andrews, and then I lived in the middle of the Lake District for a year, and at heart I think I am really a "country person." I still disagree with Adam though. I think Newcastle's full of spectacular views and interesting corners. You just have to know where to look.

I spent ages today taking pictures of the three main bridges that span the Ouseburn Valley, linking Byker with Town. This, the metro bridge, is probably the least picturesque of the three, but I think you'll agree it's still not bad?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.