Porcupine Journals - Day 7

"The sun is shy again today after teasing us all yesterday. Intimidated perhaps by Lake Superior's moods. It makes it hard to wake up in the deep sunless dawn like that deep in the woods. I got a slow, sleepy start to the day.

After what seemed like a long time sticking my thumb out for a ride I was dropped of at the Union Spring trail head to loop back here to my cabin later today. Along the bony backbone of the trail heading towards Government Peak big leafy hemlocks dot the ridge. Walking amongst their airy trunks always makes me feel like I am in a cathedral. Mysterious, ancient, and holy - knowing and bigger than myself...

Through these giants I wandered before I reached the wide swampy head-waters of the Big Carp River. It is thick here, another world entirely from the forest I left. It feels feral, hidden, lurking and alive. Everywhere along the trail are wolf tracks. Perhaps right now amongst the tangle of river sedges they are watching me. Apparently there are two resident packs here in the Porkies - seeing them though is another story.

Crossing the slow muddy head waters the forest changes yet again. Tall pines, maple, and hard woods drape a shadow over the understory. The clouds darken and it begins to rain. I dare not turn back now though. I'm being chased by a hungry mob of mosquitos! Making the joy of photography a maddening burden...

For many miles I pushed on like this - hopscotching muddy springs, swatting mosquitos and whistling to myself for company. I have seen no other people. Only one large boot track many days old gives any indication others have been here recently. But, there is animal sign everywhere. Wolf or coyote, deer, and bear tracks festoon the trail. The bear tracks are very fresh and from today. There are two sets, big and small. Mother and cub. I whistle a little louder as I hike...

Through boggy tamarack and spruce groves I finally made it to the Union Spring. A small dock juts out in the still water. Cedar snags reach out their fingers from the sandy bottom and the thick green of the forest hem in the sides. In the stillness a frog croaks and jumps into the water, sending out ripples in this hidden pool.

Thunder heads bellowing on the near horizon wake me up from my trance and I made a speedy dogged line back to the cabin. Hungry, mosquito bitten, and soggy wet. Just as I got in the door the rain began to pour. I made it just in time! Starting a fire in the woodstove and getting a warm dinner together. It is days such as these that add meaning to the simple, but wonderful creature comforts - when you have to earn them."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.