My quiet space

By JuliaS

A Taste of Childhood

40 years ago when I was a little older than Tara and had just started school, my favorite pudding at school was something called Gypsy Tart. Many years ago I did have the recipe from my school, but unfortuately that got lost somewhere and I have been unable to find anything exactly the same.

It seems to be a distinctly Kentish thing, as friends elsewhere had never heard of it. I have tried recipes from the internet but they are not quite the same...... but maybe over the years the taste of the original has faded/got distorted.

This is the nearest I have found ready made, and is a real comfort food. As Hari and I have been feeling full of cold and really yucky for the last couple of days, it was a must ;0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.