Sweet dusty-bones

By sweetdustybones

Himmelbunt

I thought it was about time Himmelbunt got some face time on here. He is one of my most favourite things, ever. Husband, on the other hand, hates him. To my other half, Himmelbunt represents all of the useless tat that I tend to accumulate. I picked him up on holiday in Germany many years ago, and to my husband's eyes, he is but a cheap, junky, tacky souvenir that does nothing but clutter up the house. I fell in love with this little elf as soon as I saw him, next to the ketchup, in a little German supermarket. I even passed some of my time on holiday by making a stop-motion animation of him walking through the woods. Over the years, he has been kidnapped and held hostage by husband, he's also been threatened with all sorts of horrid torturous ends, but still he remains - calm, collected and happy - just sitting on the bookshelf, watching the world go by. In the past, husband claimed that Himmelbunt was plotting to destroy us all, and that my 'unnatural' desire to keep him during a ruthless clear out meant that he had already achieved phase one of his plan: To successfully gain a higher place in my heart than my husband. Apparently, he plays mind games with us and poisons my mind against hubby. From my point of view, himmelbunt is merely a outward, visual expression of the inner me, so to accept him is to accept me. I made it clear to hubs that Himmy is part of the package, and for me to chuck him in the bin would be to throw away a little tiny bit of myself, and not a bad bit. I think we've just about accepted the situation now. In fact, deep down, I think that husband is secretly starting to like the little happy elf. Maybe that's phase two of the destruction plan...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.