Westerham

Westerham is a pretty town on the A25, just south of the M25. I used to work down the road in Brasted and I decided to come home this way tonight for a change and to see how much things might have changed. From Westerham to Wrotham I think I passed five pubs which were boarded up; not the famous ones like The White Hart at Brasted but still the local boozers which would have been the focal point of small communities.

Anyways - back to Westerham. On the outskirts of the town is Chartwell which Winston Churchil bought in the 1920s and in which he lived when he wasn't occupying 10 Downing Street. To recognise this famous inhabitant a wonderful, larger than life, statue by Oscar Nemon was erected on the village green in 1969. At the other end of the green is another statue - Major General James Wolfe who is most famous for defeating the French at the Battle of Quebec. I'm guessing that I won't need to say which one I've blipped!

So that's a wee bit about Westerham

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.