Several Species of

By luckycharms

Roof/Sky

My second blip from film, still working back from my first set of prints. Again, please excuse the quality as these are bad scans of prints. Once I have these scanned from the negatives, I will replace them.

Last night I was trying to finish of my first 35mm roll, itching to see how it had all worked out. I ended up heading into town to take a few pictures of an abandoned old firetruck, which were poorly lit and came out badly. After ending up with only three frames left, I began pointing the camera at anything I could find, including the roof of this building. It ended up coming out nicer than I expected.

As a whole, I am happy with my first roll of film. I have learned quite a bit from the experience by looking at what worked and what didn't and figuring out why. It's just far to easy to adjust and reshoot with my DSLR- it becomes so instinctive that I forget what I'm doing. Also, it allows me to make a picture the way I want it by bumbling through all sorts of incorrect exposures on my way to the image I want, rather than getting it right the first time. Though I do miss my good ol' K100D, I think film is definitely changing the way I make pictures for the better.

Coming up next: A freshly loaded roll of Tri-X 400 24 exposure. Stay tuned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.