My happy medlar tree

After setting off to Dorset on Friday afternoon I had an easy journey and arrived at Patrick's thatched cottage as the sun was setting. He welcomed me with a glass of wine before lighting an open log fire.

Unfortunately in my rush to get away, I left my camera behind, despite having re-charged all its batteries. So no blips from Dorset. But I had a good time although it was rather exhausting getting up so early to watch the rugby.

Now I am home and as the sun was setting I managed to nip out to our garden this evening, accompanied by Bomble. I felt rather uninspired creatively, but did try a few new techniques, none of which 'worked'.

I planted this medlar tree two years ago and always enjoy looking at its strange fruits. I think there are enough this autumn to have a go at making some medlar jelly, but I have to wait for the first frosts to help the bletting process. Then they will be softer and the flesh will become soft and more easily prepared.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.