Nat's Travels

By natstravels

Bruton Dovecote

I have not been to the Dovecote in Bruton for years, its always been a landmark for the town and I remeber my school house badge had the Dovecote on it.

As I was in Bruton I took a walk up to the Dovecote, its now part of the National Trust and has links to the Stourhead estate.

Its a curious stone building and local landmark that dates from the 16th century and may also have been used as a watch tower. It lives up to its name and I think the dove's that live there were not best happy when I poked my head in and disturbed them!

According to the signs in the car park, the dovecote overlooks the rural town of Bruton, reputed to be the smallest town in England! Learnt something new there!

Project DIY continues more sanding of furniture and tidying Mum's garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.