Mindful Breath

By MindfulBreath

There's No Place Like Work

My work involves some unusual circumstances. I am a Systems Administrator for an online company. By "Systems Administrator" I really mean Grand Poobah (as my boss would say) of all things even slightly tech related, such as graphic design, PHP programming, Windows networking, LAMP server maintenance, software installation, hardware repair, doorknob replacement, espresso machine cleaning, universal remote programming... you get the picture. I'll pretty much take a stab at whatever someone puts in front of me, and I'm not at all shy about saying that I'm kinda the Tech Whisperer. Mechanical things speak to me, and I to them.

The admin office, the office from which I work, is an old farmhouse on a massive 75-acre farm at the base of the foothills of Mount Baker. Homesteaded more than 100 years ago and filled with heritage trees and plants that are at least as old, there's a feeling of deep-rootedness immediately apparent as you stroll the grounds. You can see the progress of the farm over time as you look at each of the buildings, built in succession as the owners and their needs changed.

The owner prior to my boss taking possession of it was aggressively pursuing a high-end horse boarding business. 28 stalls with turnouts sat quietly waiting for inhabitants...until we arrived.

Four horses, four goats, three alpacas, two dogs, and one camel (yes, camel) later, my boss settled in to do a little farming. In addition to the animals, the first green shoots of organic orchard grass are beginning to appear in the freshly plowed section of earth at the front of the property.

It's an eclectic collection of circumstances...but I love every aspect. And the view from my office window... Well, I'll let that speak for itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.