Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Round Tree

A beautiful bright, sunny and cloudless day has graced this Friday.

I was playing around on my camera with ISO and exposure settings, and just happened to photograph this tree in a our back garden. It exhibits spherically symmetrical topiary ...

.. or at least it should, but nature has somewhat altered the intended shape by random growth since the tree last had its hair cut. At least, you can see how sunny it was.

I thought I would take a look out at the front, as well. This fine tree stands directly opposite our house. I was interested to see how far the colours had evolved. As it happens, we have a Blipfoto entry for 24 Oct 2010 showing the same tree. Less than two weeks later, but the tree looks far more autumnal. However, it's fair to add that the 2010 photograph was taken at 08:24, with a pretty low sun, while today's was taken at 12:03, with the sun about an hour off as high as it gets these days.

This tree is a useful 'test subject' for photography from the house, and I even have a shot of the tree in the snow, taken on 6 January 2010.

Note added on Saturday 15 October (mainly for my own record). Since it was still sunny this morning, I took two more photographs of the tree at about 08:10 so that they would be more directly comparable with the one from October 2010. This first photograph was shot from roughly the same position as the 2010 version, while the second picture is across the open road, and can be compared with the noon picture linked earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.