Stravaiger

By stravaig

Missing

I've done a few blips recently on items that were lost (or put more positively, waiting to be found). This one is just plain 'missing'. Let me explain.

I've not been to this part of Stirling for a few months. When the weather gets cooler I sometimes take Behr (our Bernese Mountain Dog) for a walk through the town centre and up to the Castle and surrounding area. This was our first walk up here this autumn. I noticed something was missing straight away (or at least I thought it was missing and only confirmed it when I checked my blip of 01 Feb 2011 (*). The statue in the middle commemorates John Knox who was a historical person of note in Scotland (he was a preacher). You will see that the raised arm on the statue does not have a hand. It was a clenched fist - see my blip of 01 Feb.

Now I don't want to jump to hasty conclusions about why it is missing. Could be the result of weather damage or wear and tear. Or it could be the result of vandalism. There was some vandalism at other parts of this cemetary recently which made local news, and of other cemetaries in the Stirling area which is of course distressing.

Anyhow, the landmark that was is now incomplete and glaringly so. What a pity.

*(I would have added the link but attempts to do so were not successful so if you want to compare then regret you would need to navigate to my 01 Feb 11 blip)

Enjoy the weekend blippers.

ps - I deliberately kept the image dark to keepo background clutter to a minimum and to hopefully draw the eye to the reason for the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.