probably definately

By chole33

Sometimes you just have to

Another Rapid's game tonight. Forgot my camera today, and since its almost midnight, I snapped this with my phone just in case. Saved by the smart phone! The game was fun, and we had a good time, but there was a bit that was less then stellar. Here's the story (a little therapeutic writing).

There were a few guys sitting behind us rooting for the other team. That's fine, I'm ok with that. Except that they were so drunk and belligerent that they wouldn't be quiet for more than 15 seconds, and they couldn't string 12 words together without 11 of them being profanity. They were quite annoying, but what really got me was that the guy sitting next to us had his little girl with him (maybe 2 years old). I could see him trying to distract her when they would really start swearing.

Eventually I turned around and said something along the lines of It's fine that you are cheering for the other team, I've got no problem with that. But show some decency and respect and watch your language, there are kids here. They were rather taken aback that someone said something to them. They attempted to keep it clean for the next 20 minutes (which I thank them for), but without profanity all they really had was aimless yelling, 'go salt lake' and attempting to make fun of me for calling them out. Eventually they left, I presume to go find a section where they could start swearing again.

There was quite a bit of relief in the area when they left. The guy next to me actually thanked me twice, saying his daughter was at the age where she repeated everything she heard. It felt really good to call them out. Maybe some people think I should have just left it alone. But hey, if you are at a family friendly event i think you should behave accordingly.

Incidentally, the best heckling I've ever heard in my life was also at a Rapid's game. It was both hilarious and completely G rated. That takes some real creativity, and it's much more enjoyable for everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.