Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

Vicars' Close, Wells

Wells is fast becoming my favourite place in Somerset.

I'm sure I'll think differently when I try to get into Coffee No1 in the middle of July and can't because of all the tourists!

It's a really beautiful place and I finally discovered another one of its gems, Vicars' Close.

It's claimed to be the oldest purely residential street with its original buildings all surviving intact in Europe. There are 27 houses built for Bishop Ralph of Shrewsbury, a chapel and library at the north end, and a hall at the south end, over an arched gate.
It's connected at its south end to the cathedral by a walkway over Chain Gate.

And it comes complete with cats, a few very lucky householders enjoying a seat in their gardens and a clarinettist practicing scales.

Oh and a few tourists as well.

More photos added to my folio and on FB too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.