RockNerd

By RockNerd

Not a Swan.

You may remember Not a Parakeet from a couple of weeks ago. This time I got one!
Not as good a picture as I'd hoped for, but I had to take the opportunity as it presented itself.
There are now so many of these beautiful birds in the West London area that a cull is almost certain to happen soon, as they compete for food with native species.
How they came to be here is a mystery. One popular theory is that about 20 birds escaped (or were released) from the set of The African Queen, which was shot in part at Isleworth studios in 1951. But I'm not sure that explains why there is a colony of them in Lloyd Park near Croydon, but don't seem to be any between here & there.
Whatever their origins, I think they bring a bit of exotic colour to our lives, & wouldn't like to see them eradicated completely.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.