Ink #3

Teach me your mood, O patient stars!
Who climb each night the patient sky,
Leaving on space, no shade, no scars,
No trace of age, no fear to die."
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

This is part of my last tattoo - I really only have three but this one is comprised of 47 stars of various sizes and styles. It goes from my right shoulder and curves round my waist and down over my hip as shown here.

My first tattoo on my left shoulder was small and personal in that it describes me personally in Astrological shorthand. The second was larger and described a new awakening to many things in terms of maturity and growth both personal and in more profound terms. It is apt that this second one reflects a triplicity of growth inherent in its Maiden, Mother,Crone symbolism - everything is born, reproduces and dies.

My third tattoo whilst it looks the simplest is actually the most profound of all. Man's wonder and awe as he has comtemplated the stars from which we are all created and his constant search for knowledge and meaning, his eternal, unquenchable thirst and creativity is reflected for me in this simple tattoo. The richness of Astrology's history, its archetypal knowledge and wisdom is something I see in action everyday and it's language is one that is both eloquent and enlightening. It describes all things with an elegant symmetry that I find unbiased and non-judgmental in its principles.

This tattoo for me represents everything the human spirit aspires to be in every facet of life both personal and in the collective.

Suitable music both dramatic and fun (which Astrology can also be) :- P

Once again many thanks to PappaGwho has the most amazing and symbolic tattoo's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.