Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

Around the house: V

Veedon Fleece.
Van Morrison has made many records but in my worthless opinion there are 4 that stand head and shoulders above the rest (not that I've heard all the rest):
Astral Weeks, Moondance, St Dominic's Preview and Veedon Fleece.
Too late to stop now, the live album from the same era, is also pretty hot.

Astral Weeks is recognised as the great classic, but I listen to this one a lot more - in fact, for me Veedon Fleece is his most deeply satisfying work.
Here's a sample - Streets of Arklow

(Sorry, boring picture today. Couldn't even be bothered going up to the loft to find the proper record so this is the CD inlay. In future if I haven't got an interesting picture to blip I won't blip one at all, but I promised Catnipkitty a Van the Man blip so here it is. Besides I couldn't think of anything else for V)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.