Sweet dusty-bones

By sweetdustybones

Where Are Their Arms?

Bit of a breakthrough today. Walks to the village are usually tedious due to the fact that Boo does not like to be in the buggy, but he doesn't like to walk for long periods either. Often, I end up pushing buggy in one hand with all our bags in, and carrying him under my other arm. I used to wrap him in a big wrappy sling, but he is far too uppy-downy for that now. He likes to be carried for a couple of minutes then walk. I do own a hipseat, which is a fabulously wonderful invention (just adds a bit of extra chair space onto my in-built chair otherwise known as my hip, and it makes carrying a toddler far easier on the back!) but I often forget to take it out with me. Today, Boo walked almost the entire trip to the village without so much as a grumble. It's just over a mile I reckon, and he loved wandering along the tow path talking to the ducks.

On the way home, we fed the ducks some crust, and as we did so Boo leaned forward as if he were inspecting them. He turned round to me and asked "Do they not got any hands?". I explained that they had feet, and that you could see their feet kicking under the water. He was truly fascinated, and a little sad about their lack of hands. I assured him that they do have wings, which are just as good as hands but for different purposes. He seemed ok with that. I'm hoping this new ability to walk in a straight line continues. I will enjoy a few more afternoons like today throughout the winter months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.