Bright Light, Dark Room

By ellies

Life Savers

Having a nice weekend so far. Went out with Tamsin last night to the newly reopened Tyneside Cinema where we saw "Jules et Jim." It was lovely and old fashioned and French, and the cinema's really nice as well, although I didn't much like the bar which felt more like a waiting room. Went to my favourite American diner after that for some food.

Today I had a wander in Heaton, and finally visited Black Flame Books - a second hand book shop I've thought looked interesting for as long as I've known Heaton but which never seems to be open when I think of going. Then I met Sarah, Helen, Sandi and Jennie for lunch at the Belle and Herbs cafe, another Heaton landmark.

The aims of the afternoon were to buy a wedding present for Dot and a birthday present for Lin, but after deciding everything in the biscuit factory was too expensive, I got side-tracked into wandering around Ouseburn, which is where I came across this row of life belts. Then I took a stroll in the sunshine on the Quayside, a bit further up the Tyne from where I usually end up, and took lots of pictures of the bridges from a slightly more unusual vantage point. They'll end up on Flickr soon, I expect.

Then I was too hot and my feet hurt so I caught the bus home presentless. Oops.

This evening I am going to try and make tablet, and Cori may come round, though I've not heard from her. And tomorrow I'm going to go out and nose around Tynemouth market with Adam.

So there's a thrilling rundown of my weekend of appreciating being in the Toon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.