Views of my world

By rosamund

Log-cabin

I've been following a book to learn the craft of weaving and after the tartan sampler the next lesson was to weave what's known as log-cabin. It was a complicated warp to set up but I really wanted to achieve the desired effect so it drove me to perfection.

I think it was smiths crisps that had a logo in the 70s with lines that changed direction and made up a square and I remember being fascinated by it. I've always been very aware of visual stimulii and many of the things I do now remind me of images that intrigued or excited me when I was young.

Although warping is always a bit of a chore, weaving is such a delight that it becomes quite addictive and I'm ready to turn to the weavers idea book to see what will be next... Maybe some kind of wavy pattern would be fun, it's all been straight lines so far...wait and see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.