Gotham City 14 Miles

By johnduncan

Rob Roy

Situated high upon the rocks, by the picturesque and peaceful Culter Burn, the statue of Rob Roy McGregor proudly stands with his claymore sword and shield in hand.

This nine foot wooden statue is the fourth to be erected. The first Rob Roy statue was erected in the 1850s by David Anderson who worked at Culter Mill. It was a ships figurehead. In 1865 it was replaced. The third statue was erected in 1926 and was replaced in 1991. It now lives at the St Peter's Heritage Trust.
In 2002 the statue was put up for sale and the locals of Culter raised funds to purchase the statue at public auction.

Whenever we drove past Mr Macgregor, my father would always say "A'right Rab" A tradition that I continue to this day. Even when alone in the car, I cant resist greeting this rebelious Jacobite. I'm actually annoyed that it was replaced in 1991 as this means it's not the same statue that my father and I used to greet but i did find out where it is.

Rob Roy statue that I saw as a child

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.