Northern Exposure

By Northern

Strange Vibes

Something really weird is happening to me. I'm being haunted by the Monkees!

For the past few weeks I have kept hearing their songs, even finding the kids whistling them. People mention them randomly on the radio and I trip over photographs in magazine. I even mentioned this to Red the other day, as his blip title seems to be part of the strange occurrence.

This evening Steven came home with this CD. I was totally perplexed and asked him if I had told him of this madness. No, says he 'I just fancied listening to it...'

Now I am quite fond of the Monkees. Being of the generation that grew up watching them on TV. But I can't say I have given them much thought over the years except for belting out "Pleasant Valley Sunday" along with the radio in the car.

This has happened to me before. For years I was haunted by John Cooper Clarke, I can't say I was a huge fan but I quite liked the odd bit of Mr JCCs poetry but at one point his image or words seemed to be everywhere I turned. It reached a head when one day I bumped into the man himself wandering along a street, although it may just have been a guy in dark glasses with big hair but then it was Edinburgh in August.

Do you reckon I can expect a visit from Messers Jones, Dolenz, Tork and Nesmith any day now?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.