vada abditae

By TomS

I tried to post this last night but I was completely zonked and fell asleep half way through. Now, with the clocks going back as well, I have had too much sleep. Typical.

In this blip I bite my thumb at the rule of thirds. If you look at it large, you can just see the roof and tower of theMinster in the middle of the image. Now, we might have a discussion about exactly what the most appropriate symbolism would be here, but I have gone for a 50-50 split between the heavens and the earth with that great medieval church smack in the middle.

I have been recommending my students, who don't have much sense of the traditional language and practices of the established church, to attend Solemn Mass. In the late 17th and early 18th century, much of what passes for religion nowadays would have been dismissed as 'Enthusiasm' - I just love the way that word is used pejoratively!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.