Out with the old

Aware that today would be my 730th blipday I was hoping to get a decent pic; perhaps there would be something eye-catching up at the allotment. However, the best laid plans of meles ganged somewhat agley due to a rather unpleasant night of gastric upheaval and not much sleep. So I spent the day indoors, dozing for quite a lot of it.

I think I pinned down the source of the trouble to a dip that I'd had on a couple of tortilla chips while we were watching an episode of the West Wing last night - it was past its use-by date (the dip, not the West Wing!). So, in the mood for throwing out old stuff I had a go at the contents of the seed box. Rather than the "sow by" dates on the packets, I used Lawrence Hills poem that's in his "Grow your Own" book - written in the style of Thomas Tusser, apparently. Anyhow, it reminded me that squash-type seeds stay viable for ages whereas parsnip seeds need to be chucked out after a year. I did find some four year old parsnip seed amongst this lot. No wonder no parsnips came up this year. After a huge clear-out I can now really enjoy compiling a seed order!

My first ever blip was of seed catalogues, I find; I guess it's the time of year. I really like the one-year-ago thumbnails that we get on blips now and being able to check out what I was doing a year ago. I've really enjoyed seeing lots of amazing photos and reading your journals, even though I haven't had much time for this recently - it's been blip and run most days. But I still wouldn't willingly miss a day. I'm very grateful for all your interest and comments. And thanks to Joe and the BlipCrew for this amazing site.

Onwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.