East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Red Fingers Fungi

I was weeding the front garden this morning and found these ghastly little things. I have never seen them in this garden before so got a bit of a shock. Years ago, in the back garden, in some sugar cane mulch, I did see what would have been one before the fingers unfurled I think, and I got such a fright that I put the shovel through it.

I looked it up on good old Google and it is an Aseroe Rubra (Red Fingers) Fungi.
Apparently the slimy stuff is to attract flies (and it did) and they then spread the spores. It is part of the Stinkhorn family, however, it didn't seem to have any bad odour thankgoodness.

By this afternoon the slime was gone on one but was still on the smaller one.
I'm not quite sure what to do with it - get rid of it or leave it there??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.