It's Not The Leaving Of Liverpool........

.....but missing a look at the Ark Royal which grieved me over the weekend. However I was shopping with a friend this afternoon when she happened to mention that the ship was sailing at 4.30. This was at 3.30 so we hot-tailed it into the city and down to the river. Hundreds of people lined the cruise terminal where she was docked. Not a parking place in sight so ( tut tut shock horror) I did something I do not usually do I parked on the double yellow lines with a few others and hoped the policeman would be kind.
They played "The Leaving Of Liverpool over the loud speakers and it was quite moving to see that huge ship slowly move away. Amazing when you see how tiny the tugs and pilot ship are. I liked this picture of the top brass on the bridge but some other shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.