Mike's area

By mikeprice

NEW BIKE!!!

I have been lookign around the Internet ( or was before BT decided my house doesn't exist and refuse to come and install a landline) for ages researching electric bikes. After looking at loads of sites I am totally confused and came to the conclusion that they are a great idea and just what I want BUT the prices vary from £500 to £2000 - and there is not real guide that shows you waht the difference is. Ask fro advise and you get stuff about 'higher quality' which then cannot be justified.

One company was extoling the virtues of a £1500 bike by saying it was made of a special light alloy - but seemed confused when I pointed out that saving 10 grammes in the frame is a bit pointless when the whole bike weighs 27 kg and its main rivals all weigh 24 kg!!!

The yesterday I bought a local paper to find out where the Welsh Rally is going to be when it starts in Llandudno and happened to see and advert for a PowaCycle Salisbury - which I had decided was possibly the best bike. The price in the shop down the road is £780 andnthis one was 14 months old and the bloke was selling if for £250 - it is a bit scratched and stuff but wokrs perfectly!!

I have been riding all round the place this afternoon and this evening to test it (some might say 'play with it' but obviously I am grown man and past all that!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.