Mr Ben

By SteveCatchBacon

Patience

Is indeed a virtue. I've been plugging away at this app for ages now and have so many long losing streaks I often think of deleting it. Somehow I stick with it, as the alternatives are Angry Birds or Cut The Rope, either of which will drive me insane with frustration. There's something about the simplicity of Patience though that endures.

Today was another Court day, or was it? I have had a frustrating time with my work not being overly supportive of my volunteer duties and that's fair enough. However, they had rota'd me on a 0200 finish this morning and starting again at 1600 hrs with a full day in court not finishing until 1700 hrs. With the best will in the world I couldn't have managed that. Maybe when I was 22 but not at 52, well apart from the time travel bit. As today had previously been in the rota system as a special leave day, it was only by chance that I spotted last Thursday it had all changed. Due to the introduction of a new shift pattern I suppose.

I have not to fallen out with anyone over it (yet) and they did let me finish at midnight Sunday in the end. However, when I turned my phone on after court I had several voicemails from people at work chasing me and questioning why I wasn't in for a 1600 hrs start! Communication is such a basic thing but often missed or carried out badly. The overall boss at my station is very likely to have me in 'for a word' over this. I don't react to well in confrontational situations like that. I need to practice some patience and try to bite my tongue rather than point out things like them knowing since last November ALL my sitting dates for this calendar year. Despite that, I've already been accused of 'leaving it until so late' to point out the problem.

Hay ho, onwards and er, onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.