In the pink

Jenners, Edinburgh's grand old, multi level, very confusing department store (now owned by House of Fraser) is in the pink to mark breast cancer awareness. Liz Hurley pressed the buttons a few weeks ago.

Most of today was spent in the kitchen, sitting on the futon mattress with Molly while the joiner did the windows. No windows in my bedroom today. The plan was they finished today but they didn't - so tomorrow I will have the window guys, the carpet fitters and the decorators in the kitchen., How will they all fit? Tom did come to do some painting but left - wise man.

Good news - between supermum and MessDress the medals are on their way to KL and will be there for Thursday, Friday at the latest - in good time for his breakfast with the High Commissioner on Saturday morning.

Later there were two bits of less good news. First a very disturbing, emotional and upsetting call from far away. Then, at the end of a brief coffee break with C, down from Inverurie, she told me about my ex next door neighbour's son. He's in 4 Scots and was shot through the head by a sniper in Afghanistan at the start of July. He's still recuperating at Hadley Court. He's only 21 and has mobility problems down his right hand side, and has a plate in his brain now to cover where the bullet hit him, having gone through his helmet, but at least he's alive. I spoke to his mum, A - she's being very, very brave. I was so lucky when #1 son was away not to have to deal with that.

Blipmeet was good - new people, even better and great to see Shandonner looking really well after his trauma.

I should have left earlier because by the time I raced home and phoned M to pass on the two bits of bad news it was late and I got very emotional, which didn't help. There doesn't seem anything I can do, except be there.

It was too late and I was too tired and drained to blip, so this is a back blip - and the predicted mega mayhem has materialised. Be strong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.