RockNerd

By RockNerd

Beady Eye!

estherase did a very nice shot of a heron yesterday, so I'd intended to leave a discreet pause before having a stab at one myself. But I couldn't not take a snap of this guy. He was just there as I walked past, about 10 feet away!
Sometimes I think we take our native wildlife a bit for granted, as we're seduced by amazing worldwide nature programmes on TV, but we're lucky to have some wonderful animals living on our doorsteps.
Herons are a personal favourite. In folklore a high-flying heron is said to be a sign of approaching rain. A low-flying one forecasts fine weather.
Presumably, one that has been flying high, but comes in to land, means changable conditions?
Historically, herons also graced the dining tables of the rich. A recipe from the 1400s suggests the bird should be prepared & cooked in the same way as you would a crane.
So now you know.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.