Real Friends

A while ago I was trying to get my sock knitting up and running as a "proper business" and, to that end, I went along to a series of courses run by the local enterprise board. One suggestion was to get yourself on Facebook, to reach a wider range of buyers. Against my better judgement, I went ahead and all my email contacts got a request, asking them to be my "friends".

One lovely person sent me a short reply - she would much rather be a real friend than a virtual one. And she is, a real friend. And when things get sticky and you are tired and tetchy and stressed, she is always there. Today she came round with her wee dog, Scratch, and Ollie and I had a great walk with them up and round the cliff. She also lent me a couple of books to take south with me - The Book Thief and The Hare with Amber Eyes.

Yes, south. Off tomorrow on the ferry, down to do the dutiful daughter bit. My mother is going into hospital for a hip replacement and I have been summoned to keep an eye on Dad. We get on really well, so long as he gets lots of traditional proper puddings, ie those involving suet and custard, and plenty of gin!

Let the fun begin . . . !



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.