Defying Gravity

Spent the day preparing for next weeks trip to Iceland by getting my first experience of 4x4 driving. I really didn't expect in the first three hours to do what was done today! This photo is the Land Rover at about 23 degree angle and it happily copes (and according to the tutor can get to about 40 degrees before it tips). The final trick amazed me the most as we drove up an almost vertical hill and purposely stalled it as we hung onto the side of a hill, like spiderman. Over the next few minutes we then discussed how you could get out of this scenario - still hanging on the side of the hill. Eventually it was just a case of putting the car in reverse with the ignition off, feet on both the clutch and brake, switch on the engine, release the hand brake, then both feet quickly off the clutch and brake at the same time and we gently rolled back, sometimes I don't understand physics but bloody happy it works the way it does!

I don't think Iceland will be as hardcore as today but at least I'll know what to do if it is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.