Helter-skelter

By Juli

Paying our respects.

I hadn't intended on blipping anything from our Remembrance Day service today but at the end, as we stood at our village War Memorial for the laying of the wreaths, I was struck at how well today brought together both old and young.

Afterwards, I told my children some of my late father-in-law's 'war stories'. He was just a little boy during World War II but I used to love hearing about what his life was like back then. Like how he and his friends used to empty out the gunpowder from unexploded shells in a big pile then light it! And later, when rationing was still in place, he used to secretly syphon diesel from his own grandfather's tractors so he could take my mother-in-law out on his motorbike when they were courting. Despite the many sadnesses and hardships of those times, his stories always made me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.