Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Toothpick, anyone?

The spines from this Argentine Toothpick cactus can actually be used as toothpicks.  If you dare to try to pick them off.

After I had it planted in my backyard, I read that they could get up to 20 feet tall.  That freaked me out because it would block my view of the mountains.  I called my landscaper and he assured me that it would only grow to only 4-5 feet.  It gets really tall when found in its natural habitat.

He'd better be right.


I determined yesterday (finally) that the ocotillo that we planted in May is dead.  It actually never took.  The nursery that sold it to me did not guaranty it, like  most places do.  A different landscaper is going to plant a new one, feed it and guaranty it.  It will bring some much needed color to the front of my house.

I also replanted the flowering torch cactus that had water-rotted at the base.  I let it really dry out and sit for a month or so before I put it back into the ground.  I hope I didn't wait too long.  I also replanted three babies in a cluster.  Hopefully, they'll take, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.