Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Baroque and Roll

I went to see The Webb Sisters tonight at the Pacific Road Arts Centre in Birkenhead. It's a great venue for folkie/rootsy type acts and I've seen many of my favourite performers there over the years including a spellbinding show by Kate and Anna McGarrigle with Martha Wainwright which is particularly memorable.

The last time I saw Hattie and Charley Webb they were the vocal foils to Leonard Cohen on his last world tour and his show (in Liverpool) was quite possibly the best live show I've ever seen! So I was really looking forward to seeing the 'sister act' do their own thing tonight and they didn't disappoint. Great harmonies accompanied by guitar, harp and mandolin and a rather charming way with between song chat. Just my kind of thing. The best bit was the encore, when they came down into the audience and sang a couple of spine-tingling a capella numbers including the aforementioned Anna McGarrigle's 'Heart Like a Wheel' which is as good a song as you'll ever hear.

Apologies for my lack of comments tonight... I must get some sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.