Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Same Rose, Different Day

I must be living a very boring life; otherwise, I wouldn't be tracking the life of our back yard mini-rose . I do think it is beautiful and at the moment it is one of the only flowers blooming in our yard. We have three mini-rose bushes, one blooms yellow, one blooms red with flecks of white, and then this peachy-pink one.

It was a tremendously good day at school with my students. Everything aligned and my Tuesday morning class was extremely receptive to a couple of articles we read -- one was pro divorce and one was pro good marriages that encourage people not to get divorced. So I told them a little of my story . . . that I'm not a divorcee, but I am a victim of divorce (my mom and dad divorced before I remember my dad ever living at home with us). I told them that Mr. Fun and I decided a long time ago that divorce wasn't an option, but we had not ruled out murder. I explained that we've been through some deep valleys and some tall mountains in our relationship and that the only reason we didn't divorce when we were young was that we couldn't afford to separate (that is the truth). All of our friends, and I do mean all, have been divorced. Watching some of them go through divorce helped us to hang-on. So it was a topic that sparked lots of discussion.

The discussion ended as they went into "hard work" mode to answer questions about the articles and to write a response. The classroom is a strange place . . . somedays it's good and somedays it's not so good and rarely is there anything inbetween.

On the home front, the pooches are behaving better (I mentioned the dilemma with them the past couple of days, so I won't repeat it). I don't know if they had a pow-wow and decided to call a truce or what, but I am enjoying a more peaceful "pack of three." Well, as peaceful as it ever gets -- at the moment Mitzi has stepped into her crate and is "rearranging her room." The crates are their daytime places and at night they sleep in smaller confined little cubbies and honestly at night they can't wait for us to open the barricade so they can get up the stairs and into their beds. They are crazy little creatures and they are a deterrent to boredom. They are, though, more difficult to photograph than a rose.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe, Mitzi, and Max), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.