Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Handwriting Winner

I had a blip of a swan earlier today, but I'm glad I didn't post it as Carys won a handwriting competition at school today. The competition was sponsored by CROSS (the pen company) and it was run in the key age groups, Upper and Lower Key Stage 2, Year 2, Year 1 and Reception. Look how proud she is. The win was only marred by the fact that the certificate and the pen both have the name CERYS Faulkner on them instead of CARYS and she is very aware of this.

Hoping to find a way of rectifying this soon as the pen is lovely and something she can keep forever. School however were not too obliging in this. It irritates me because I didn't call her Cerys, it is a different name. As different as Ann is from Anna. I think despite other explanations that have been proffered, it was assumed that Cerys was her name as this is the more common derivation and surprisingly many people haven't heard of Carys.

Anyway Carys told Daddy that she had to stand up in Achievers Assembly to get her prize. The whole school was there so she held her breath. Bless, I do love her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.